Jo Ann Simon wins 52nd Assembly District Democratic primary
by Jess Berry
Sep 10, 2014 | 4372 views | 0 0 comments | 70 70 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Jo Ann Simon sits with former assemblywoman Joan Millman. The two are good friends, and voters selected Simon to fill Millman's seat.
Jo Ann Simon sits with former assemblywoman Joan Millman. The two are good friends, and voters selected Simon to fill Millman's seat.
An endorsement from Mayor Bill de Blasio was not enough to get Pete Sikora the popular vote in the 52nd District.

Voters selected Jo Ann Simon to replace Joan Millman, who represented the 52nd District in the state Assembly for 17 years. Peter Sikora came in second and Brooklyn Heights resident Doug Biviano came in third.

Simon received 52.9 percent of the vote, Sikora received 39.9 percent and Biviano finished with 7.3 percent of the vote.

Simon, a good friend of Millman’s, had received endorsements from Millman herself, State Senator Velmanette Montgomery, City Comptroller Scott Stringer, U.S. Senator Kirsten Gillibrand, Congresswoman Nydia Velazques, Public Advocate Letitia James, Borough President Eric Adams and many others leading up to the race.

At the announcement of her leaving, Millman immediately threw her support behind Simon, who she said was ready to “hit the ground running.”

“She knows about the legislative work that I’ve done, some of the things that I didn’t get to finish that I’m going to ask her to finish and continue to work on, and that’s the feeling of confidence that I have in Jo Anne, knowing that we worked so closely together all these years,” Millman said.

Simon, an attorney at law and the former 52nd Assembly District Leader, said in the weeks before the race that she was excited to continue to work for her community.

“I’m looking to continue my in-depth work in the community and be a voice for the community district that I have been working so hard for and for a long time,” she said.

Simon will now face GOP nominee John Jasilli in November.

In other races, for state Assembly, incumbent Felix Ortiz handily beat opponent Ceasar Zuniga with 70.7 percent of the vote for District 54. Latrice Walker was victorious in District 55 with 39.9 percent of the vote in a seven-person contest. In District 60, Charles Barron won 63.2 percent of the vote over Chris Banks. Rodneyse Bichotte won the Democratic vote in District 42 with 49.7 percent of the vote, and incumbent Steven Cymbrowitz won District 45 with 57.2 percent of the vote.

In the races for state Senate, John Sampson, incumbent for District 19, beat out three competitors with over half of the vote. Incumbent Martin Dilan beat Debbie Medina by 16 points to represent District 18, and Jesse Hamilton easily won the Democratic primary in District 20, with 64.9 percent of the vote.
Comments-icon Post a Comment
No Comments Yet